Microblog Mondays #7: the mommy guilt edition

I’m not a huge fan of “mommy guilt” – I think Brene Brown nailed it when she identified those feelings as shame instead.  But I am indeed having a case of true mom guilt at the moment.

I realized this weekend that Mini’s baby book ends at his fifth birthday – which is 18 days away.  And I’ve had it on my to-do list for at LEAST two years.*

Ugh. 

So I’m actually sitting down and gluing stuff in instead of leaving it all shoved into the box and in a pile on my desk.  And of course I’m now realizing that I can’t remember everything that needs to be filled out and where his fourth birthday party invites are and that I haven’t printed out pictures since, oh, 2012.

Procrastination fail, Exhibit A, right here.

——-
*(And to make it worse, Finale’s book is already up to date!  Maybe we all think our youngest sibling was the favorite, when really it took that long for our moms to figure out what they were doing too.)

6 thoughts on “Microblog Mondays #7: the mommy guilt edition

  1. If it makes you feel any better, I have not filled out ours at all. Even though it was the one task that I very dramatically declared the most important thing. I have deep regrets, but I haven’t taken steps to remedy it.

  2. I have one too…there are a few things written in it (family tree stuff) before he was even born, one thing taped in there after he was born and the rest has just been entered into the online journal (private blog) I have kept for me/him.
    We have the best of intentions…

  3. Because my SIL gave me a baby book that I didn’t want and couldn’t return instead of the one I registered for, I have passive-aggressively never filled it out. Fortunately, I wrote a journal for my girl for the first year or so of her life. I hope that it covers everything because I can’t remember anything!

  4. I only filled out the first few pages of my firstborn’s baby book and to be honest with you I don’t think I even have one for my secondborn!

Leave a comment