Write for me.

There’s a general category of post-baby-now-I-don’t-know-what-to-write-about-privacy-concerns-and-vulnerability-about-new-motherhood-or-we’ve-stopped-trying-and-now-what-do-I-do-with-this-space that seems to crop up on most IF blogs at some point.  I’ve seen a few of them in the last month – like this one from Sprogblogger.  I certainly have had those same thoughts – should I stay?  should I go?  does anyone care?  do I care?

So I’m going to answer those questions for you:

You should stay.

You should keep writing.

I care.

You don’t have to keep writing about IF, or babies, or your particular baby for which you are concerned about future privacy.  Write for yourself.  Write for your friends.  Write because you have a story to tell, and because we, the readers who keep coming back for more, want to hear it.  Write about your garden, your sucky boss, the sunshine through the trees in your back yard, the taste of that perfect margarita, your new video game addiction, your secret shame at obsessively watching “Breaking Pointe” on the CW, the books you read, the book you’re writing, the poem you found today that inspired you, the houseplant you ignored that died, the recipe that turned out spectacularly and the recipe that the dog wouldn’t eat, your half-marathon training, your new paint color, that stain on your carpet that looks like Gorbachev’s birthmark, the stars above your house at night, the sound of the ocean, the breeze across your back porch swing.

Write for me.

Because I didn’t start reading your story just because you were trying to have a baby.  I started reading your story because you reached out, you shared yourself and your hopes and your fears, and I felt a connection.  And I honor that connection, and I want to hear what you have to say and have a conversation back with you.

What do you do when you don’t know what to write about?  Go here.   Open your private journal and pick something that needs to be expounded on.  Share your appreciations.  Start a 30-day project. Sign up for daily inspirational emails and publish a response.  Post a photo a day and commentary.  Join a hobby community.

Because if you write it, I will read it.  And if you leave, I will miss you.

6 thoughts on “Write for me.

  1. I have to disagree … I read ALI blogs because I am interested in sharing in the writers’ ALI stories. As for whether I would want to read about the other topics you suggest, well, most people do not have the ability to make such things interesting in a written format.

Leave a comment