NaBloPoMo Day 5: Funeral Feast

What should they eat at your funeral?

Tradition says that my friends or my church (or my family’s church) would furnish a pot luck luncheon for after the funeral.  Casseroles, meat and cheese tray, tea sandwiches, dips, desserts.  Southern comfort foods.  And having been to more funerals than I like, I can say that it IS comforting to have plates of the same food I grew up with there as an offering of sympathy in grief.

But if *I* got to pick the menu, I would have local craft beer and a couple food trucks set up (gourmet burgers and wood fired pizza).  With a selection of italian deli cookies and middle eastern pastries for dessert.  To share my favorites in memoriam, one last meal with the people I loved.

Leave a Reply

