03 handwriting 

This is a photo of a quote on a postit that I transcribed from a photo I took of a photo of a quote on a postit that was posted to instagram.  (The meta is strong in this one.)  The original quote was attributed to Kurt Vonnegut, but a cursory Internet search says the correct attribution is to an author named Iain Thomas.

I’m trying really hard to keep this in mind during this blistering political season that has been punctuated by incidents of violence throughout the world.  

Openness. Brokenness. Softness.  

I take a breath and scan for the tension, the hardness, the fear, the anger – and I try to let it go.  Because there is a crack in everything – that’s how the light gets in.  And above all, I am searching for the light.

2 thoughts on “03 handwriting 

  1. Wow. When I read this quote I wasn’t even thinking about all of the violence that has been occurring throughout the world lately. This is so true – it is good to remain open and soft and not give in to the “hard”. Thanks for sharing this. 🙂

Leave a Reply

