#Reverb2015: replenishment

What I need most is what every parent of 3 small children needs – sleep.  I’ve been sleep deprived since mid-2009 — I joke that I have a blood caffeine level that I have to maintain just to make it through the day.  Except that it’s not really a joke.

It’s easy to say “Tonight’s the night I’m going to bed early!” But when it comes down to it, by the time I get home from work, and then we have dinner and do homework and have a bath now and then and maybe a book and a few minutes with each kid as I tuck them in, then nurse the baby down to sleep, then watch a show with M – I’m lucky if I’m in bed by my nominal bedtime of 10:30.  I’m treating this as one of those things that will pass eventually; they all have to sleep through the night eventually, right? (If not, lie to me and tell me it’s true.)

There are other things that I use to replenish: running, reading books, going out with M for dinner and a cup of coffee, lunch with my girlfriends, the occasional lazy Sunday spent cross-stitching.  Those are actually easier to get worked into my schedule than a nap.  I feel like if I start going to bed earlier, then I have to give up some of those things, or time that I spend with my family members, or chores around the house.  There are so many things that have to get done to keep this family working, and then so many more things and events that I want to do and participate in.  I don’t want to live a life where I get up, go to work, come home, barely see anyone, don’t do anything, and then go to bed.  That doesn’t sound like any kind of life worth living to me.  I’d rather down a pot of coffee and keep on squeezing out the joy in as many moments as I can cram into my day.

4 thoughts on “#Reverb2015: replenishment

  1. It’s infuriating, isn’t it, that it always seems to be the fun stuff that has to take second place to the stuff that just has to be done. I hope there’s a light at the end of the tunnel!

  2. I was watching an old science fiction movie the other night, of the genre where robots tooks care of all of what I call “life maintenance” activities in three minutes flat with flashing lights and beeping sounds. I’m quite disappointed they never came to be. Wishing you all the fun of a fully-engaged life AND a restorative nap or two as well.

  3. Sometimes you just have to schedule in those things that nourish you first. Yesterday I ignore the dog hair on the floor and read a cookbook instead. It is not just a cookbook. It has stories of cancer survivors along with recipes, nutrition and research. No, I do not have cancer. The book was donated by the people who put on a lecture on nutrition and cancer. It is a very healing book. Today, I vacuumed the dog hair. 🙂 I love xstitching but difficult finding time.

    Lily

  4. Yes! I don’t even have a baby anymore. But I get up super early to make it to work early enough that I can make it home in time for the bus. Then there’s after school activities, dinner, finally their bedtime, then we watch a show or two and it’s at least 10:00, at which point I do my night time routine and am in bed by 10:30. Then the alarm comes way too quickly AGAIN. The cycle repeats. Occasionally I will hit a wall and have to nap instead of going to the gym or the kids visit grandparents and we sleep for 12 hrs straight, or something. But those times are few and far between. In the mean time, we’re living and enjoying our life, so I can’t complain too much! As long as I have my coffee…

Leave a Reply

