#30daysofgratitude, day 4 music

Smaller sings.  She sings songs from school – the Alphabet Song and Old McDonald Had a Farm.  Songs from us – Rockabye Baby and Ring Around the Rosies.  If she notices me watching her, she goes shy and clams up, so I watch out of the corner of my eye and try to hide my smiles.  I’m in awe of her growing up and into her own person, the things she learns and remembers from school now.  (It’s equally as strange hearing my and Manly’s particular phrases coming out of her mouth.  It’s like, do I really sound like that?).

I want to bottle her up and keep her on the shelf, exactly as she is right now.  These moments are fleeting, the snuggles, the giggles, the sideways grins, pushing hair back from her face. She is mine and I am hers, all wrapped up in love.

One thought on “#30daysofgratitude, day 4 music

Leave a Reply

