Radio Silence

Some days, like today, I open up my post and stare at the blank page. 

The things I want to get out of my thoughts are not mine to tell – they intersect my life, but only through other people.  I want to scream, and rage on their behalf, but this place is not the place.  So I sit, brooding, and waiting for the moment to pass and the urgency to fade.  It’s another chapter in a long story that is not likely to end any time soon, despite a frisson of hope earlier.

At what point do you draw the line in the sand and do something that can’t be taken back?  When do you commit yourself to seeing it through to the end, knowing that it is going to come at dear cost?  How do you extricate yourself from somewhere you never wanted to be in the first place?

3 thoughts on “Radio Silence

  1. I think I know how this feels. It’s the very thing that silences me on my blog, that makes me self-censor again and again. And yet: it is also me. I can’t pretend that I am separate from it. The trick is in telling my story without assuming theirs. Thank you for this!

  2. I have a few things in my life that I would dearly love to write about but it’s all so tortuous and the history is so complicated that i can’t even begin to think how I could do it whilst also only telling my own part in the story.

  3. Betty, that’s it. To explain why this makes me so angry would require YEARS worth of backstory about a dozen people. And only a tiny little piece is mine – most of it is observation about how other people were done wrong.

Leave a Reply

