5. Movement

imageAgain today, this is not the post I expected to write.  We had a 1st birthday party to attend for the daughter of a friend – another triumph of our local RE.  I expected the party to be teeming with kids, which it was, and that I would easily catch a picture of one of them in motion, which I did not.  Instead, I was the one in motion most of the afternoon, preventing my kids from digging into the birthday cake before time, reading books to the audience at the back of the room while the birthday girl opened presents, and stopping a busted lip from bleeding (damn, you, gravity!).  So I have a few shots of the kids, some better than others, but none with the lovely blurring that I can usually get very easily.

But because I adore my husband, I bring you an alternate story about motion.  For Christmas, Santa Claus brought our household the cast of Toy Story – Woody, Buzz, Jessie, and Bullseye.  You can guess that we have been watching a lot of Toy Story movies lately.  Tonight, while we were starting dinner, Manly said to me, “I want to tell you something – but you’re going to think I’m crazy.”

“Okay…” I replied hesitantly.

“Where we’ve been watching the Toy Story movies – and the toys move around and then throw themselves back into the positions where they were left when the people return – I keep checking our toys to make sure they’re in the same place I left them.”

Yes, I laughed.  But now he has ME checking the toys more closely, to make sure that they’re not sneaking around when we aren’t watching …

Leave a Reply

