400 Words

He climbs into my lap and I nuzzle kisses from his ear down to the nape of his neck. He squirms and squeals and twists around, smiling like an imp and begging for more. He is stretching out, baby roundness pulled like taffy into lanky little boy arms and legs. He has the most beautiful eyes I have ever seen, brilliant blue with crystal centers. He grabs my hands and wraps my arms around his belly — not giving him a hug is not an option. He locks his eyes onto mine, dimples punctuating each side of his smile.

He pats my opposite leg. “Baby!” he demands.

Obediently, I scoop her up from the blanket beside us and prop her in the designated spot.

She giggles and reaches out, fat hands spread out like stars, open mouth and leaning to him. She is like marshmallow fluff: irresistibly sweet and delightful and dense and addictive. The duckling fluff that we call her hair brushes my nose and I have to pull back and tuck my head around so I am not a barrier between them. I can smell the top of her head, an intoxicating mix of Johnson’s bedtime wash and her own delicate scent. He takes possession of her hand, shifting over so that she is cuddled against both of us. I bounce both of my legs up and down, pressing them in to me and squeezing them close. It was only a few months ago that my lap was full of her in my belly with no room for him; I make good now on my promise to him that soon there would be space for both of them there.

Manly glances down at us with a bemused grin. I meet his gaze, raising my eyes so that my head stays nestled with theirs. He shakes his head, sighing at the tiny demands for mama-mama-mama. He gets the short end of my attention these days, but we both know from experience that it will get better with time. He turns back to the movie he’s watching, his face in profile to me. My memory tells that if I could touch him, I would feel the roughness of his beard, his hands, the thick silkiness of his hair through my fingers. Even sexier to me now than when we met, the father of my children.

Our little family, finally here.

4 thoughts on “400 Words

  1. This is beautiful, Sharah. So nice to “meet” you … thanks for stopping by by blog, and happy ICLW!

    I love the line about “teflon” in the next post, too. I know exactly how that goes…

  2. Hi, thanks for stopping by on my blog 🙂
    This is such a lovely scene – I’m so happy for you that you got your two little miracles.
    Hope your ICLW was a good one, and Christmas even better (if you celebrate Christmas). Here’s to a great 2012!

Leave a Reply

