And the longer version of that little tidbit…

I had my 35 week appointment yesterday, and I was very much NOT expecting to hear that I’m anywhere close to labor.  I was expecting to have at least five more weeks — the car seat is still in the box, I don’t have a bag packed, nothing’s washed …  there’s a LOT left to do. 

Quick stats (from what I remember — I think there are probably little bits of my brain still in the exam room from where my head exploded after hearing the doc tell me all that):

  • gained (according to their scale) 4 lb in two weeks
  • blood pressure still fine, I didn’t ask what it was or peek in my file
  • got my strep B swab, so won’t know results for a little while
  • his heartbeat is 140ish; it bounced between 139 and 150 depending on where she was holding the doppler
  • I didn’t even ask what my fundal height was, he measured me but had already told me about the dilation so I was in shock
  • the boy is head down; doctor said that he’ll probably have no problem fitting through my pelvis since he could already feel the skull
  • and I know I should have asked about effacement, but he didn’t tell and I didn’t think about it at the time

Manly was/is thinking that this past weekend may have contributed to the dilation.  I took Friday off and we worked on getting the nursery to be, well, a nursery instead of an office.  We have a split level house, and I ended up carrying all my 47 billion textbooks downstairs, which required a whole lotta trips up and down the stairs.   A long afternoon, and I was definitely feeling it in my calves and sweating by the time we were done.  Then Saturday we went on a Ghost Walk downtown — it wasn’t a really long trip, maybe a few miles spread out over 2 1/2 hours, but still a good clip.  Sunday I went to both Sam’s and the grocery store to get stuff (another few hours on my feet).  And finally on Monday, we drove up to Chattanooga and spent the day at the Aquarium.  We went through both buildings, as well as walking around the plaza to eat lunch, go to the fudge shop, and stop by Ben & Jerry’s. 

I think that all that walking probably didn’t slow anything down, but I also feel like this probably was already in motion.  After my appointment, I went back to work.  Right before I left last night, I ran to the potty and … bloody show.  Which I know could have been triggered by the internal exam, but still another little sign that things are moving along.  Much less today — only tinged mucus, but at the same time, it feels like he’s beginning to engage.  My groin just aches, like someone kicked me in the crotch.  I had a dentist appointment today, and I can’t tell you how good it felt to be tipped backward while they were cleaning my teeth.  All that weight just lifted out of my hips and pelvis, and it felt comfortable for the first time in a while.  I hadn’t noticed how unpleasant I was feeling since it’s been gradually increasing over the last few weeks, but sitting back up after that, I realized how much pressure I’m actually feeling down there.  My left leg actually kind of feels like it wants to have a muscle cramp in my thigh, but never quite gets there.  Which makes me suspicious that there’s some pressure on my spine or tailbone hitting those nerves.  I’m not having any contractions per se, but I keep getting these rather sharp cramps/pains in my lower abs.  Which dr. google says could be braxton-hicks, or could be someone irritated at my position and punching me in my internal organs.  It’s hard to tell.

So now I’m about to get up and go wash some more clothes and get my bag packed for the hospital just in case.  It’s a day at a time now, from my point of view — even the doctor said yesterday that I could go into labor that night (obviously not) or I could walk around for weeks like I was (dear god, please no, I understand now why people WANT to go into labor to make the discomfort go away).  Either way, I’ll keep somebody in the loop and if something happens, that’s why text messages were invented.  So thanks everybody for the good thoughts!

9 thoughts on “And the longer version of that little tidbit…

  1. I simply cannot believe that you are so close already! So excited, and I will be on the edge of my seat for the next few weeks! Or maybe few days if you go soon? 🙂

  2. Wow! You are almost there! Still, I think it’s funny when Dr.s predict when their patients will or won’t go into labor based on dilation.

    I was 1 cm dilated at 31 weeks with Emery and made it to 37 weeks. And I was 2 cm dilated at 35 weeks with Eve, 4cm dilated and 80% effaced at 38 weeks, and I went just 5 hours shy of 40 weeks. Never can tell. It’s good to be prepared, but it’s bad to be waiting for 4 weeks like I was with Eve. Expecting it any second is difficult to tolerate. Aggh! The waiting!
    I’m so happy for you, Sharah! So exciting!

  3. We’re excited for you either way! Here’s hoping he stays in just long enough to be perfectly healthy and that your discomfort does not increase! 🙂

  4. Coming out of lurkdom to say that I know how you feel. Lexi came at 36w2d quite unexpectedly…water broke and had NOTHING packed for the hospital.

    Happy Anniversary!

  5. That’s exciting, but scary too, I know! I walked around 1 cm dialated for a few weeks. I also remember that Reilly dropped really early and it was rough…sounds like your little man did too.

    I’m thinking good thoughts that he cooks a while longer!

Leave a Reply

