because it’s just pissing me off every time i think about it

So I’ve read several posts about that entry at the momlogic site, or whatever it was.  And the thing I keep thinking is, abortion is not about a child at all.  Abortion is about a woman, and her right to make decisions about what to do with her body.  I don’t deny, and will never deny, that that tiny clump of cells has the potential to turn into a life.  That’s why so many of us invest so much time and emotion and energy thinking and worrying and celebrating about whether our embryos have 6 cells, or 7, or eight.  But what I completely refuse to acknowledge is the idea that those eight cells (or however many they might become) trump the right of a woman to control her own body.  So yes, I am pro-choice.  And yes, I also believe that women who are pro-choice have the right to mourn miscarriage.  The two are not mutually exclusive, no matter how much freshman poli-sci logic you want to throw at the problem.  Legal, safe, and rare.  That’s what I support.

9 thoughts on “because it’s just pissing me off every time i think about it

  1. I didn’t read the post you were talking about, but I agree with you. What makes me sick about the whole issue is that the woman is forgotten in all of the political polarization, pro-choice or pro-life. What kind of support is the woman getting who has to make this terrible kind of choice? In reality, there is no support for her. Because if the support was there, it would be a non-issue.

  2. I still don’t understand why she bothered to write such an article. It was very short and not too mush to the point, so why bother?

    I’m thinking she’s a comment whore because she sure got some!

    x

  3. I totally agree with you. It is a personal issue, not public and NOT legislative.

    This is between the woman affected and whomever she CHOOSES to include – parents, clergy, friends and/or (hopefully) the man/potential father (assuming he’s still around!). It’s not anyone’s business but who she chooses to involve…

Leave a Reply

