WAITT recap

Just so you know, if you suggest that someone “really should blog about this tomorrow”, it’s likely that the table will nominate YOU.  Ah well, I love you guys anyway 🙂  For everyone who wasn’t there, we met at 6:00 for dinner.  I didn’t get home until 10:30.  Yeah, it was that fun.  In light of our four hour marathon, I’ll recap the high points of dinner (as I remember them) in bullet points. 

  • Social workers suck, especially if you don’t want to be a foster resource  
  • Teething toddlers suck
  • Once cloning becomes available, we each want a copy of Becky’s mom (Hi MomWinks! *Wave*)
  • According to someone’s dad, you can’t watch a lunar eclipse because you’ll go blind.  He was a rocket scientist.  Literally.
  • People in the south are all related, which is why we ask to hold strangers’ babies.  This FREAKS OUT our northern transplants.  As does random conversation in the grocery store.
  • Contrary to popular belief, people in Alabama DO wear shoes and shop in malls.  And thank god that there’s still Mississippi, because that means we’re still #49.  Woot!
  • If you have girls, you have to worry about the pee-pees.  But if you have boys, you have to worry about all the vajayjays that are out to get your pee-pees, because you can get stuck with one of those, too. 
  • No one will tell you beforehand what to do with a toddler – um – e.rection during a diaper change (according to the dad, you can’t tuck it sideways without damage, but mom says you can’t leave it straight up unless you want to get drenched.
  • No one will tell you beforehand that little girls figure out how to – geez, how did I get stuck with this – “enjoy” themselves as young as 3, and then decide to stop after a few months because they get “too sweaty”.  True story.
  • Although everyone knows that your hair gets thicker when you’re pregnant, no one will tell you beforehand that ALL your hair gets thicker.  All.  Yeah, including what you’re thinking.  And apparently trimming/shaving around a pregnant belly is quite difficult. 
  • You need to be told to deal with the hair issue before you go to deliver because the nurses WILL talk about you and you will be that girl on the floor.  Doesn’t have to be perfect, just neat and freshly washed.
  • Femara will make your hair thin and/or fall out.  It will recover after you stop taking it, but it takes a while (our group is 3 for 3 on this side effect).
  • Men are disgusting (think toenails, whiskers, toilet habits) — and we all should have separate bathrooms for the sake our sanity and our marriage.

I’m sure there was more, but that’s the bulk of the topics.  I know there was some talk about engineers because I was studiously studying the lovely flower arrangement nearby 🙂  But we had a fabulous time, and I love you girls!  Remember, if you ever want to join us, it’s always the 3rd Wednesday of the month at Casablanca’s on University at 6:00.  Email one of us (me, Jess, Kel, Becky) and we’ll meet you out front. 

7 thoughts on “WAITT recap

  1. When you put it like that, we are quite a mess! It was a blast, and so glad we volunteered you for this job!

    Speaking of jobs, can’t wait to hear about how “yours” is going!

  2. sharah – thanks for your comment on my blog.

    And I have always said that the secret to a happy marriage is separate bathrooms. Now if I can just convince my husband to start using the guest bath…

    Seriously, he needs to get away from my bathroom.

    Who knew men were so gross? Another romance-buster: doing his laundry! I am so glad I have a sanitary setting.

    Him: Honey, why are my towels so scratchy?” Me: “I don’t know, maybe that’s what happens to towels that are washed in 160° water for two hours.”

    🙂 Alacrity

  3. I’m a little late here on my response but I too have to add what a GREAT time I had with all of you. Tears of laughter were definitley on the menu that night!! Hope to see more girls to join the fun the next time!! 😉

Leave a Reply

