Book recommendations?

I recently signed up with a company called bookswim* — it’s like netflix, but with books instead of movies.  So I have a request for all of you:

Tell me what book you’re reading that you love or one that you would really recommend. 

I just sent back Eat, Pray, Love and The Forever War, and I have 1421: The Year the Chinese Discovered America and Hyperion on the way.  I also just finished Good to Great, which I borrowed from a coworker, and I’m listening to The World Is Flat on CD.  I read a little bit of everything, except for romance novels. 

Let me have it — tell me what I need to put in my pool.

*I am loving this site. I pay $15 a month for 2 books at a time, which is way cheaper than buying things that I’ll read once or racking up library fees.  And if you decide you want to try it, let me know.  I can send you a link for 1/2 off your first month’s fee.  I don’t get anything out of it other than the pleasure of helping my friends though, so don’t feel pressured.

14 thoughts on “Book recommendations?

  1. “The Turk and My Mother” by Mary Helen Stefaniak.

    “Outlander” by Diana Gabaldon (Technically a romance but not really. Not a bodice-ripper. Full of history and medical science. Really. You’ll nejoy it.)

    “Sunshine” by Robin McKinley. One of my favorite comfort reads.

    “Agnes and the Hit Man” Jennifer Cruise and Bob Mayer. Chick lit but really fun. A good, quick sick-day read.

    I could go on and on but I’ll spare you. Happy reading! Let me know if you like any of these.

    xo

  2. “Unless” by Carol Shields

    “The Secret Life of Bees” Sue Monk Kidd

    I’m currently reading Secret Thoughts of an Adoptive Mother by Janna Wolff, but I’m guessing that’s not the sort of topic you’re looking for? It is a great read though, very honest memoir.

  3. DD, I’ve got Water for Elephants already on there. Good to get confirmation on that.

    Farah, I LOVED Eat, Pray, Love! I can give it highest recommendations. According to the book I got, she’s putting out a follow-up to EPL in the next year, and I’m looking forward to it.

  4. That is so much fun. I think Jasper Fforde is very amusing. I love chick lit which means I like anything Jennifer Weiner. Margaret Atwood’s Oryx and Crake. Ishiguro’s Never Let Me Go. Andrew Sean Greer’s The Confessions of Max Tivoli. The Time Traveler’s Wife. Um…I could go on and on…

Leave a Reply

