Thoughts from the Couch

I really should be doing homework right now.  I have 120-something data sets to download, unzip, convert to the correct UTM format, and project.  I have a paper to write for another class, and about 6 chapters to read before the final.  My prelim exams for my PhD program are scheduled for Friday. 

You know what I am doing (other than writing this)?  Watching Manly play Play.station.  Complaining because I cross-stitched so much today that my thumb is sore.  Planning what I need to pack for my trip tomorrow.  Thinking about making some hot chocolate with whipped cream and marshmallows.  Wishing I had gotten to the PS this morning before Manly so that I could be the one playing.  Dreading going to work and another multi-hour waste of my time meeting tomorrow morning. 

One more week and then I’m on vacation for the entire week of T’giving.  Then 2? 3? weeks of work and I get three weeks off.  Then four weeks, and I should know the results of my PE.  Then I can start looking for another job.  Who, me, anxious to find something new?  No, I don’t know where you could have gotten that impression.  Maybe I should take four weeks off at Christmas, make it an entire month.  Hmmm.  I should check and see.

I gave the VeryBadDog a bath earlier.  He was absolutely filthy.  At one point, I had to remind him that his ancestors retrieved fishing nets from the North Atlantic ocean, and that getting his face washed with warm bath water wasn’t going to kill him.  Now I can smell him from across the room where he curled into a little (well, big) dog-ball to dry off.  Once he’s dry, I’ll let him curl up on the couch with me and keep me warm.

*Big sigh.*  I guess I’d better get going.  I need to wash clothes, and I really do want that hot chocolate.  You guys stay warm and curl up with somebody that you love tonight.  That’s the whole point of winter, isn’t it?  I wish we could all get together around a big fire and toast marshmallows and share stories — maybe someday we’ll be able to.  Pax.

One thought on “Thoughts from the Couch

Leave a Reply

