Last Hurdle Jumped

It’s over.  I hope.  I really feel good about the test, which means one of two things.  Either I was really prepared and I rocked it, or I just got an easy test and I still failed.  It will be about 3 months before I find out.  But at least I can forget about it for a while.  From the deepest depths of my grinch-y little heart, thank you for all your support,  

Now, since I never really explained what I was doing, I thought I’d tell you all a little more about the licensing process.  This explanation only applies for my state, so you might hear something different from seussgirl, who also took her test yesterday (it’s a national exam administed in each state).  Getting your professional license in my area is a series of multiple hurdles:

  1. Graduate from a A.BET accredited school with your e. degree.
  2. Take (and pass) the Fundamentals exam, which covers all your schoolwork and what you should have learned, whether you did or not.
  3. Find a job where you have a supervisor that is licensed (harder to do than you would think).
  4. Work 4 years, and make sure you keep your certification for passing the Fundamentals exam current each year ($6 per year).
  5. Submit an exam pre-application, which must be approved by a lady in the state board office.
  6. Get your licensed supervisor to fill out verification forms saying, yes, Sharah did indeed work with me for four years and she didn’t screw anything up too badly.
  7. Get two other licensed professionals to fill out forms saying pretty much, yep, Sharah’s an okay kind of girl — give her a chance at a license.  Oh, yeah, your supervisor has to fill out one of these as well.  Plus two other people, who might or might not be licensed, have to do the same.
  8. Submit a notarized application and the other six forms on time, then wait two months for the next board meeting and hope you get approved. PS, this is $50 in my state.
  9. Submit a request to take the exam, and a check for $225.
  10. Gather test materials and study for 6-8 weeks (exam review book and practice test, $150).
  11. Drive an hour and a half to the closest city where the test is held, stay overnight ($80 because I halved a hotel room with a friend).
  12. Find the only freaking door to the convention center and be inside before 7:15 that morning when they lock the doors.
  13. 8-hour test.
  14. Drive home, pray that you passed, and wait 12 weeks for the answer.

So there you go.  I have over $500 invested in the process at this point, and it’s just a waiting game for now.  If I don’t pass, add about another $500 for the next attempt and each attempt thereafter. 

Huh, lots of money spent per attempt, long time to wait for an answer, no idea whether this time will be it or you’ll have to try again — now, where have I heard that before?

8 thoughts on “Last Hurdle Jumped

  1. I would have to say the process is a bit rediculous, and for the life of me I can’t understand why there are that many hurdles. Any ideas as to why it’s so difficult? Do fill us in.

  2. Yey, it’s over! (For now, anyway, right?) Our process is pretty much the same; I took the EIT (Or “Fundamentals”) test in college; worked under another licensed engineer for 4 years, needed 5 professionals to vouch for me, filled out an “amplified resume” with pretty much every project I’ve ever worked on, and paid exorbitant fees to wait for someone to tell me I was allowed to take the exam. Now, I too, will be waiting 10-12 weeks to find out if it was a success. Of course, if it wasn’t, the next testing date is in April, and I’m thinking I won’t be sitting anywhere for 8 hours at that point. 🙂
    Good luck, Sharah – I hope we both passed!

  3. Re: why it’s such a difficult process? It’s a way to weed out the people who aren’t qualified, honestly. Once you have your license, you can start your own engineering business and get insured/bonded in case one of your designs fails. The license allows you to sign and seal design drawings, which makes YOU liable if something goes wrong. Also, it gives the State some control over who provides engineering services. If you have the word “engineer” in your business name, you must have a licensed Professional on staff, or you can be fined a LOT of money ($2500 – $25000 in my state).

  4. I can relate. The landscape architecture licensing is just as long and drawn out. Congratulations on getting through it, I’m still in the trenches.

  5. I can’t believe you have to wait so long to get your results! AHHHHHH!
    But giant high-five to you for rocking your test and having such a big thing behind you now.
    SO proud of you!
    xo

Leave a Reply

