Light and Fluffy. Well, fluffy anyway.

So some of you may remember that I pledged to try out South Beach last month, but I never reported on how it went.  I am proud to say that I managed to do the full two week introductory phase, at the end of which I was down almost five pounds.  I am not so proud to say that the day after I finished that phase, I promptly crashed into some potato chips and ice cream.  As a result, I’m back up a few pounds. 

But.

Last week, Manly found this site, and went though the assessment.  And then he harrassed gently and supportively encouraged me to go give it a try myself.  I did.  And my “real age” is almost five years older than I actually am.  Ouch.  For some reason, seeing the results in that form finally managed to make me realize exactly how the way I eat and exercise is hurting my health.  As a direct result, I have stocked up on whole grains and veggies, and I’ve been trying to eat better.  I’ve also started going to the gym every day with a coworker.  I don’t expect to lose weight quickly, but I am hoping that adopting a healthier lifestyle will help me drop some pounds. 

Now the assessment looks at more than diet and exercise; it also goes into general health and lifestyle factors.  And here’s where the irony of all this comes in: my hormonal/endocrine issues are “aging” me.  They cause my migraines, which also age me.  The migraines and insulin resistance cause me to take prescription medicines, which age me.  (And don’t forget that the insulin resistance is part of the reason I’m overweight in the first place.) Being infertile is major life stress, which ages me.  And of course, women who never have children are at a higher risk of breast cancer, which — say it with me — ages me.  In fact, almost all of the factors detrimental to my health are related to my infertility

And yet infertility treatment is considered a “lifestyle choice” by insurance companies.  Once again, and all together now, when will these guys figure out that paying for ART is cheaper in the long run than paying for all the related complications! 

9 thoughts on “Light and Fluffy. Well, fluffy anyway.

  1. Hi! My husband and I were using that diet for a few months. I have friends who lost several pounds and inches on this diet. My husband and I…well, we just didn’t stick to it, but we try to eat that way most meals. Good luck with it!
    Thanks for the comments at my blog!

  2. I agree, insurance companies should try to get with reality instead of perceived risk. Sounds like you are on the right track with the lifestyle changes. You are inspiring me – I too have been making some changes and hoping that I feel better as well as lose some weight in the process. Let us know how it goes.

  3. I’m doing WW … the CORE plan, which focuses on eating whole, healthful foods. (I haven’t junk food or fast food in more than two months, and remarkably I’m OK with that!)

    I recommend it – it’s really not hard once you get the hang of it, and now I eat that way without thinking about it. (And I’m down almost 25 pounds.)

    I haven’t started trying for babies yet – but I was afraid my health and weight would play a negative factor. We shall see what happens when the time is right, but until then I’m going to focus on the things I can control!

  4. The #1 aging factor, ahead of childlessness and prescription drugs and smoking?

    Dealing with insurance companies!!

    Yes, Sharah, I would like that website about the tipping point — thanks.

  5. lol I agree BestLight! When I did the Real Age test a few months ago, I was 7 years older than I am right now… *gulp*. I’ve been trying to eat healthier and get more exercise, but it’s difficult during wintertimes – It’s winter down here in the Southern Hemisphere at the moment 🙂

    Thanks for the comment on my blog yesterday Sharah, and I know what you mean by cats that eat a lot – I have one too!

  6. Lifestyle? Honey, those insurance companies owe me . I’ve been as healthy as one could be (minus the red wine that I like to indulge in…but hey, it helps the heart stay young, right?) Off to take the test to see how I come out…

Leave a Reply

