School’s Out

After putting far too much thought and discussion into the issue, Manly and I decided to do a break/DIY cycle this month.  I did get to speak to Nurse ES yesterday afternoon about the situation, and she confirmed for me that it wasn’t a problem to skip a cycle with them — I will just call them at the start of my next cycle for CD 3 bloodwork.  Now, from that sentence, you can probably infer that I don’t have much hope for this cycle, and it’s true.  I usually ovulate on or around CD16 on my own anyway, so we’re still bumping up against that travel deadline.  Is there a chance it’ll work out?  Sure, there’s always a chance — but it’s only about 3-5% any given month with good timing, and our timing is going to be less than ideal.  It’s just not going to happen.

I feel kind of unsure what to do with myself now, like the first day after school ends for the summer.  I have a whole month coming up ahead of me that I don’t have to think about timing or treatments or what CD it is if I don’t want to.  No pills, no shots, no forced sex, no agonizing over the 2ww.  It’s been a long time since I could feel like this, and I think it’s going to be good for me. 

7 thoughts on “School’s Out

  1. sounds like a much needed break, even if you may have been unsure at first. i think it’s a good decision as it really sounds like a busy month coming up….the extra stress of an “all systems go” cycle could be brutal.

  2. ah a break. I hope it refreshes and rejuvenates you – good luck on the DIY cycle – don’t prove my mother right about “just relaxin'” Ill never hear the end of it

  3. I am sorry that you are having to take a break this cycle. Having done the whole DIY thing for the last two months myself, I can say that it feels somewhat good to purge the body of meds (if only for a moment). It’s a small consolation, but one nonetheless.

  4. Giving credit where it’s due, the term DIY came from Max’s Mommy. But it is so absolutely perfect for the situation, I can’t help but steal it 🙂

Leave a Reply

