Two Things, and Their Result

Thing 1: It just hit me today that the weight I’ve gained in the last two months is likely because of the femara.  I don’t know if that happens to everyone since femara is supposed to have less side-effects than clomid, but I’m pretty sure it’s related.  It’s only 5 pounds, but it’s a big deal to me.  It’s also going to be a pain in the ass to lose the weight if I’m fighting against the medication.  I was already considering going on South Beach, but I think I’m at the point where I must do something now, before it gets worse.

Thing 2: I know that my emotions feed off of each other, and that point was just driven home last night.  I was already feeling tender from the HSG results, and then I played online all day at work instead of being productive (which always makes me feel stressed and guilty), and then I had to drag myself to dinner with friends.  By the time we left the house, I was almost in tears.  But after getting to spend some time with Manly and being social with the folks at dinner, I was feeling better. 

If I’m going to keep IF from seeping into all the corners of my life, I need to engage in activities that promote happiness and contentment in my life, not ones that allow me to magnify all the bad feelings I have.  I have to start doing creative projects again, I have to do worthwhile work that make me feel productive and proud of myself, and I have to make a point to acknowledge the beauty and abundance in life around me.  There are a lot of things that I was doing that I have allowed to slip over the last few months, mainly due to work, and I need to correct that before it gets worse.

Given those two things, I’m going to publicly put some resolutions out there, and I hope you guys will help hold me accountable for them:

  • I am going to start going back to the gym at least 3x per week.  Starting this afternoon, with Friday yoga.  I got lazy and quit going, but taking this class helped me clear my mind of work-related stress and transition into the weekend with a clean slate.
  • On Monday morning, I will start South Beach.  I am going to commit to doing at least the two week introduction phase, and I’ll re-evaluate how well it works after that point.  If I’m not seeing any effect, I will try something else.  My goal is to lose the 5 femara pounds, and then to keep losing in five pound increments.  Ultimately, I need to lose 25 pounds to get down to a “normal” BMI.   
  • I forgot to mention this, but I’m on day 3 of trying to give up caffeine.  I pretty much have to drink a little each day to keep my migraines at bay, but I’m down to one glass/can of soda each evening.  At work I’m drinking de-caf soda and water.
  • Prioritization at work is key: I will delegate everything to my student assistant that I can, and focus on writing, research, and project management.  I must complete or make significant progress on at least two to-do items each day. 
  • Each evening, upon getting home, I will spend 30 minutes doing something at the house, whether it’s cleaning or paying bills or planting flowers.  I will not just go home and flop on the sofa.
  • I will spend at least two hours each week working on some kind of creative project.  I signed up for the 101 Things project at the beginning of the year, so I will begin by working through that list.

I, Sharah, do hereby promise to do my best at completing the tasks I set here.  And I ask all of you to periodically call me out and ask me what I’m doing in order to fulfill my promise.  Everybody on board?

12 thoughts on “Two Things, and Their Result

  1. I will say that going to the gym has helped me TREMENDOUSLY in terms of emotion management. I sleep better, wake up more refreshed, and in general am loving the fact that there is actually something that I can CONTROL!!!! 🙂

    I love this list, but don’t wear yourself out trying to reach your goals. If there’s a night where you want to flop on the couch, go ahead and do it. Just make sure it’s not every night. 🙂

    You go girl!

  2. I tossed the 101 Things list up as a separate page for those of y’all who are curious about what mine are.

    And yeah, I know there will be days and nights when I just want to curl up and veg, but I want those to be few and far between. If it seems like I’m doing that every night, will someone please kick me off the sofa ? 🙂

  3. very ambitious and inspiring indeed! i’ll be thinking of you when i drag myself out to the garden this weekend instead of lolling on the couch!

  4. You go girl….I found that getting into a craft has helped me a lot….still not great at it…but takes my mind to a new place. I hope that your resolutions help you immensely.

  5. Okay, I will officially start kicking your butt, my dear. No more relaxing.

    And hey, femara isn’t the only thing that can result in weight gain. Other hormones or feeling blahhh after all this can do it too. Which is why working out and eating healthy will help keep you more in balance. ((Hugs))

  6. Brilliant! You’ve hit upon something I’ve observed as well. Emotions are powerful players in controllling our lives. It’s good to clear our heads through exercise and satisfying activities where we can show progress. I admire your ability to get to the core of this and devote yourself to activities that open you to new possibilities and creative outlets. I’m going to do a better job myself of following your example. Thanks for clearly demonstrating how it can be done.

  7. It sounds like you’ve really got an excellent plan not just for coping, but for a wonderfully well-rounded life. It seems to me that I’ve heard people with these kinds of lists are more likely to find satisfaction in their lives because they have a tangible reminder of the things they “always wanted to do” and complete them (or at least make significant progress toward completion). I’m thinking I need that list of 101. I love the way you organized your list. All the “well-roundedness” appeals to me. Go Sharah!

Leave a comment