Q&A, Day 8

Behold, the power of blogs!  One of the reasons I blog is to get things out of my head; yesterday was one of those days.  Thank you all for your comments — some days it’s just too much to handle on my own.  Those days, I really appreciate being able to lean on you and let someone else hold my hope for me.

Adrienne wants to know what I would be if I wasn’t an engineer.  Honestly, I’m not really sure.  When I was in high school, I wanted to be an accountant.  I would have done so (and minored in history) if my father hadn’t convinced me that I could do the same thing as an engineer.  Liar, liar, pants on fire!  I do nothing that even resembles accounting these days.  I do get to do research and consulting though, so it makes up for it.

But if I had my choice, any choice, I would probably still be a professional student.  I love being in school, I love reading, I love the immediate positive feedback from grades and assignments.  And it really doesn’t matter the subject — history, science, engineering, psychology, and math all hold their attractions for me.  It would be a dream for me to be a full-time student with someone else paying the bills and letting me focus on my studies.  Even though I’m stuck going part-time and having to work full-time, I am looking forward to having a PhD.  I’m hoping that with my experience and research funding I’ll be able to get a teaching position in an engineering department somewhere in the region. 

Another option would be being a museum docent.  I volunteered in a local museum in high school and occasionally led tours, and I really enjoyed that.  Again, lots of learning/history/science all rolled into one job.  I’ve also fantasized about going back to medical school and studying to be an RE, but that’s just a pipe dream.  I cannot handle blood, so there’s no way I’d ever make it through basic medical courses, much less be able to perform any kind of procedure on someone.

3 thoughts on “Q&A, Day 8

  1. I would like to be a professional student too! Though, I don’t want to do pure research, and certainly wouldn’t want to do a dissertation. So no Ph.D’s for me. Not anytime soon anyway. 🙂

  2. Can I go to school with you? (She asks in a little sad voice.) I loved being a student, and would love being one forever. I think we would be considered “philosophers” in previous centuries, and supported by a “patron.” Maybe I should ask my hubby if he can be my “patron”? Yeah, right.

  3. I really enjoyed being in school, but I don’t know if I’d want to be a professional student. A lot of my time was taken up with tests and papers, and even though I enjoyed the learning process I didn’t have a lot of time to do other things. I think it’s possible to continue learning without stressing yourself out about it (although maybe I just got more stressed than others). 🙂

Leave a Reply

