Q&A, Day 6

Winks, I said one question.  Just one.  This may be the world’s longest blog entry because of you…  (You know I love you and I’m smiling right now!)

Okay, we’ll take these all in order.

First up: my favorite childhood memory.

Going to Disneyworld with my parents when I was seven.  Twenty years have passed, and I still remember walking through Cinderella’s castle and being so disappointed that it was only a passageway instead of a real castle.  We rode the carousel over and over, we took the monorail every day into the park, and I tried to pull the sword from the stone.  I think that there’s still a set of mouse ears embroidered with my name in my parent’s attic.  The last thing we did before leaving was buy a huge conch shell outside the Pirates of the Caribbean ride to take home to my grandmother.  I remember more about that trip than any other period of my childhood.

My second favorite memory is of watching my father use my hula hoop as a guide to draw a marbles circle on the living room floor.  He was using chalk, but my mom still went ballistic.  It was awesome.

Second: what you would bring if I could only bring one item with me to a deserted island?

Well, I’d love to have either of Adrienne’s books: 1,001 Things You Can Do With a Palm Frond and Your Guide to Living on a Deserted Island and Loving It!, and The Professor’s Manual: Building a Radio With Two Coconuts and Wire Salvaged from the U.S.S. Minnow.  Outside of those, it was be nifty to have Survivorman in my carry-on luggage.

Realistically, I would want a lighter.  I’ve seen enough episodes of Survivor and Discovery-Channel survival shows to keep myself fed and possibly make a raft.  But I doubt that I’d be able to start a fire on my own.  A solar-powered portable water desalination kit would be useful too. 

Finally: what my pet peeve is.

I hate when people use apostrophes improperly.  You know, like when the oil change place advertises for “Ladie’s Day”.  The plural possessive form is most often abused, but the distinction between “its” and “it’s” runs a close second.

I also can’t stand it when people fail to use the acceleration lane when merging onto a limited access roadway facility.  It’s there for a reason, people!

4 thoughts on “Q&A, Day 6

  1. What can I say, at least I limited myself to the ones I did ask. I have many more for you! 😉

    Oooh, I was so upset about that castle too. Disney really needs to step up and make a real castle that you can go through!

    Good call on the lighter.

    I have the same pet peeves. Why don’t most Alabamians make good use of turning lanes?

  2. Ooh, I’m a stickler for apostrophe grammar, too! I hate when “its” is used improperly, but “lot’s” is right up there, too. I’ve even seen professional journalists who don’t know how to use an apostrophe!

  3. My favorite (NOT) use of an apostrophe is when it’s used in it’s/its incorrectly. Sets my teeth on edge.

    Okay, here’s my question for you: if you weren’t an engineer, what would you be?

  4. I had someone tell me that Cinderella’s castle was now explore-able, but I don’t know if that’s true or not. Or if they were talking about Disneyland instead. Either way, it just wasn’t fair! 🙂

Leave a Reply

