Q&A, Day 2

Lindsey had two questions: 1) What is something idiosyncratic about me and 2) what do I eat for breakfast.

First off, I had to go look up what idiosyncratic actually meant 🙂  From dictionary.com, it is

  1. A structural or behavioral characteristic peculiar to an individual or group.
  2. A physiological or temperamental peculiarity.
  3. An unusual individual reaction to food or a drug.

I’m going to go with the second definition and elaborate a little on one of my quirks — I hate feet.  I can’t stand looking at them, I can’t stand touching them, I can’t even handle watching somebody else touch someone’s feet.  The thought of touching someone else’s feet makes me squig out and my stomache turns flips.  I just. can’t. handle. it.  Manly, as stated previously, thinks that this is hilarious.  When we get in bed at night, he’ll slide one of his feet over until it’s just barely touching my leg and wait for me to freak out.  He’s actually run me out of the bed before because he kept following me when I would pull away.  By the time I jumped out of the sheets, he was laughing so hard he couldn’t breathe and I was that close to crying.  I really do not know where this came from, but nevertheless, it is something I have to deal with.  I have a deep-seated suspicion that it’s a projection of my feelings about my own feet, which bug the crap out of me.  (On a quasi-related note, you can always tell when I’m about to fall asleep because I’ll start rubbing my feet together.  I’ve done it for as long as I remember, and that’s how I know when I need to go to bed; my feet tell me.)

Another one of my quirks is that any dish that gets in the sink has to be washed, even if it was clean and just fell out of the dish rack.  This also drives Manly up the wall.  We have a fun house, let me tell ya.

Second, breakfast.  I don’t have a standard breakfast that I eat everyday.  During the week, the thing I eat most often is Raisin Bran Crunch cereal, because it’s fast.  But I’ll also throw in cheerios (with a banana, if I have them) or kashi, or a half of a cinnamon-raisin bagel, or cheese toast, or oatmeal.  Anything that will get me out the door on time.  I almost always have coffee in the mornings, whether I make it myself or grab a cup from the pot at work.

On the weekends, Manly and I both like to sleep in when we get the chance, so we do a rather leisurely morning brunch rather than breakfast. For that, we’ll do pancakes or waffles or french toast with eggs and sausage or bacon.  Our local Publix sells really good english muffin bread and sourdough bread from the bakery, so we’ll use that to make toast.  Once in a blue moon we’ll make crepes or I’ll get a can of cinnamon rolls from the grocery store. 

And in the spirit of full disclosure, I will admit to eating brownies or cake or leftover pizza if they’re available.  I try not to do that often, but sometimes they’re the best looking thing in the fridge.  Admit it, you’ve done it too!

P.S.  Becky’s laparoscopy got moved up earlier in the day.  I have instructions to call her mom and check on her about 1:00 or 2:00 this afternoon, so I’ll let everybody know when she’s up and moving again.  Good luck Becky!  Updated: Just spoke with MomWinks, and Becky’s out.  I know she’s going to give everyone a full update when she’s feeling better, but I will hint that it’s good news.  Yay!

3 thoughts on “Q&A, Day 2

  1. Yes, the 2nd definition is what I was looking for. 🙂
    Love the feet phobia. VERY idiosyncratic. And I rub my feet together upon falling asleep as well.
    Thanks for the scoop!

  2. The feet thing is different. So, you haven’t wanted to watch Ugly Betty lately, I guess?

    And of course I eat crap from my kitchen. Cake is what I live on!

Leave a Reply

