Really?


Pamela Jean and Becky have both tagged me with a Thinking Blogger Award.  Wow!

I’m so honored that both of them feel that way about me.  Like so many others, I started this blog as a place to vent and be me-me-me all the time.  It’s become more than that for me: a connection to so many other fantastic women who can understand and commiserate with me when I’m feeling down and cheer and laugh with me on the good days.  So with that in mind, here are the blogs that make me think:

Coming2Terms: I don’t know if I’m supposed to reverse-tag or not, but Pamela Jean always posts entries that really do make me think about my experience of infertility and why some things bother me so much.  She also reminds me that there is life after infertility and that having a RLB(tm) is not the end-all and be-all of life.

Are We There Yet?: Another reverse-tag.  Becky writes with clarity and purpose, and always manages to convey the emotional aspects of IF that I can’t seem to get across.  She inspires me to work on making people feel the way I do with my writing, instead of just telling them what I’m feeling.

Max’s Mommy: Adrienne actually owes me about three new keyboards for the ones I ruined spitting coffee out my nose.  Posts like this one help me to remember that IF doesn’t have to be all serious-doom-and-gloom all the time.  Plus, how can you not love someone who refers to non-medicated cycles as “D.I.Y.”?

This Side of Pregnant: Lindsey’s blog has such a feeling a peace and serenity, and she writes beautifully.  She makes me want to stop and really think about what I want out of life and how I can get there without stressing myself out so much.

Stirrup-Queens: Mel always provides topics of discussion and helps keep the IF blog-world moving in a positive direction.  If I’m ever feeling stuck about what to post, I can always hop over to her site and find something to write about.

And now, since the IF world tends to be kind of insular, I’m going to stretch a little bit and give you my Thinking Blogs for my life outside of infertility:

Orcinus: Reminds us all of what can happen when democracy goes to bread-and-circuses.

Pharyngula: I don’t always agree with him, but he can spot a religious fanatic at 20 paces (or more).  Plus, he’s a biologist with access to cool resources!  Somewhere back in his archives is a video of fish eggs fertilizing and moving to the blastocyst stage — which is very cool if you’re wondering what’s going on inside you during the 2ww.

Confessions of a Community College Dean:  An inside view of higher ed, with plenty of good ideas on how to fix the system.

Bitch, Ph.D.:  Keeping us informed on feminism and women’s issues.

Keep Up With Me: Something new every day, from popular media to NoVa life to cultural isssues. 

There you go — the people I read on a daily (or as close to it as I can get) basis.  Thank you all for making me think outside my little box of life!

5 thoughts on “Really?

  1. Thanks for the generous props! I’m really honored!
    Right back at ya, Sharah. I click your blog everytime I climb into Blogland. I’m thinking of you, and hoping for you.

  2. Crap, sorry, Sharah. I keep forgetting to log out of my clean and well edited blog for my family and real life friends only and therefore always keep posting as babylieneck. Anywho, if you haven’t already figured that out, now you know.

Leave a Reply

