There’s a reason I didn’t go to med school

Ah, the trigger shot.  I’d love to say that it was no big deal, but *gulp* that wouldn’t be true.  I got through all of the prep, right up to the point where I had to stick the needle in my stomach . . .  and then I chickened out.  I just CANNOT deal with the thought of voluntarily sticking sharp, potentially painful, metal objects into my belly, no matter how much everyone assures me that it won’t hurt.  I am an engineer for God’s sake!  I pray to the god of over-building and safety factors.  I swore an oath to use my knowledge only for the betterment of mankind.  People depend on me to design things that keep the general public safe from harm.  Stick a metal rod into my fat roll — you’ve got to be kidding me!  That’s going to involve someone bleeding, and I don’t want any part of it.

Don’t be alarmed though, the shot did happen.   Manly just rolled his eyes, pushed me back up against the kitchen sink (so I couldn’t run away), and then stuck me while I had my eyes closed.  It was over before I had time to be traumatized.  And no, it didn’t hurt; nor did it bleed more than a few drops.  I got to go right back to making cookies after I cleared away all the alcohol and cotton balls and fourteen copies of the instructions that I had brought downstairs to psyche myself up with.  You would have thought that I was going to amputate something if you had seen all the crap I had prepared.

Anyway, I’m guessing that it worked (or is working right now) as I’m feeling both of my ovaries at the moment.  The right one is a little more noticeable, since it had many more follicles, but I can tell where the left side is as well.  No pain, just a feeling of there’s something right there.  So let’s plan on a test date of oh, March 5, whaddaya say?  I think that should be about right, either for my period to show, or for a test to give me a true result.

3 thoughts on “There’s a reason I didn’t go to med school

  1. I leave your blog for five minutes and I have three posts to catch up on! So, here goes…

    Yes, you get a cookie! What kind do you prefer?

    I can completely relate to the shot. Icky. With all the planning I did for it, you’d think I was trying to balance the national budget or invade a small country. Glad it sounds like yours went smoothly!

Leave a Reply

