The VERY Beginning

Rebecca’s post about how she met her husband made me realize that I have never written about how Manly and I met.  So here’s how this story really began, seven years ago.

When I started college, I decided that I would go through sorority rush.  I ended up pledging Sorority X, which I love-love-loved.  I spent the first few years of my college career going out too much, drinking way too much, and flirting with lots of frat boys.  Our sorority had close ties with Fraternity X, mainly because a lot of our girls dated their members.  One of my close sorority sisters dated a brother from FX, and I had secretly decided that if she ever broke up with him, I was going to ask him out (not in a snarky way, he was, and is, a wonderful guy). 

Well, in the summer of 2000, I had been dating two guys and broken off with both of them.  There was a FX party the last weekend of June, and I decided I was going to go.   I distinctly remember thinking to myself before I left my apartment “I’m not going to bother dressing up; there’s no one there I have to impress.”

Cue the ominous music — duh-da-dah.  Famous last words, right?

I get to the party and there is this really cute blond guy there that I can’t pinpoint.  He’s not one of the brothers, but I know I’ve seen him around before.  But I’m hanging around the bar, dancing, having a good time with my friends, and I don’t really think too much about him.  Anyhoo, the night goes on and I’m drinking too much as usual, and he ends up stepping in to bartend while the main barkeep goes outside to smoke.  So my drunk self goes to get my glass refilled and he flirts with me a little.  Then while I’m still standing there, leaning against the bar, he leans over and kisses me on the back of my neck.   I decided that instead of slapping him, I’d see where this led, and we’ve been together ever since.  We started talking about getting married about three weeks after that, ended up getting engaged three months later, and got married in 2002. 

Now do you all remember the guy from FX that I mentioned at the very beginning, the one I thought was a great guy?  It turns out that the cute blond [Manly] was his older actual brother in town for the weekend.  Manly had been coming up for a weekend party here and there all summer, and I had seen him around, but never met him (Manly swears that we did so meet before this night, but I do not remember ever speaking to him.  He also says I was very drunk the first time we met, which would explain why I don’t remember it).  FX ended up marrying my sorority sister, so we’re still close.  There are a lot of advantages to having being friends with your BIL and SIL before you become family.  They’re also trying to have kids right now, but that’s a story for another day.

So there you go — the story of how we met.

2 thoughts on “The VERY Beginning

Leave a Reply

