January 30 TUSAL

image

This, for those of you who don’t recognize it, is an ORT (old ratty threads) jar. It’s filled with the tail ends of threads from my stitching – the top layer that you can see is from the Firefighter Sampler that I’ve been working on the past few weeks.  I’m using a plain Mason jelly jar, so it’s hard to see through the side, but there’s plenty of room for my planned projects this year.

I saw a picture from last year’s TUSAL where someone (I didn’t mark down where, sorry) had filled a glass Christmas bulb with the remnants from her ORT.  It was lovely, and that’s what I want to do with mine at the end of this year’s project.

If you want to play along, the instructions are at Daffycat’s Totally Useless Stitch-A-Long.  We’ll be posting ORT pics on the new moon dates through the year, and it’s never too late to join up!

2 thoughts on “January 30 TUSAL

  1. I love your idea! And I have a set of 12 ornaments just waiting to be filled.
    But I am a quilter, so my plan is to save those little tiny scraps of fabric that I clip during my piecing and save those.
    Thanks for the great idea.

Leave a Reply

